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Bureau of Child Support Enforcement
For general information about child support or to 

discuss specific case problems, contact:  

Child Support Helpline 
1-800-932-0211

Pennsylvania State Collection and Disbursement Unit  
If you pay or receive support and have questions or problems regarding the 

receipt of your actual support dollars, 
you can call the PA State Collection and Disbursement Unit at:

1-877-727- SCDU (7238) 

1-877-676-9582
(For the hearing impaired) 
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Pennsylvania Child 
Support Enforcement Program
Child support is money a parent pays to help 
provide food, clothing and other things for his or
her child. Child support may include medical 
support, payment of uncovered medical bills and
contributions to child care costs. 

The Department of Public Welfare, Bureau of Child
Support Enforcement, BCSE, administers the
Pennsylvania Child Support Enforcement Program.
State and federal laws govern how child support
orders are established and enforced. These laws
also govern how child support is collected. 

County Domestic Relations Sections

Child support enforcement services in Pennsylvania
are provided by the Domestic Relations Sections,
DRSs, of the county Court of Common Pleas. 

DRSs help parents apply for child support services,
establish paternity and support orders, and enforce
support orders. A DRS worker will set up an
appointment or help with an application. If you
have domestic or family violence concerns, talk
with the DRS about safety measures. See page 5,
“Domestic Violence: Addressing Safety Risks in the
Support Process,” for more information about how
DRSs handle cases in which domestic violence may
be a concern.

The county DRS can also help
if the noncustodial parent
lives in another Pennsylvania
county, a different state or
even another country. The
noncustodial parent is the
parent who does not live with
the child and must pay child
support. 

Feel free to ask questions of
the DRS worker. You should
keep a written record of 
contacts with the DRS and
the documents received from
the DRS.

Applying for Child Support

When applying for child support, a complaint for
child support must be filed with the court. If the
mother of the child is unmarried, the DRS will 
need proof of the child’s paternity. For additional 
information about establishing paternity, see 
page 9, “Establishing Paternity for your Child is in
your Hands.”

The DRS will schedule a support conference and
send notices with the date and time to the parents. 

Child support owed to the family usually begins on
the date the complaint is filed. Some counties
charge a filing fee. If you cannot pay the filing fee,
you may ask to be excused from paying the fee by
filing a petition to proceed In Forma Pauperis.

$25 Annual Federal User Fee

The United States Congress requires collection of a
$25 annual fee each year for open/active child 
support cases that receive at least $500 in child
support payments annually if the custodial parent
has never received cash assistance. The common-
wealth will pay the $25 fee for families with collec-
tions between $500 and $1,999.99. The $25 fee
will be collected from the custodial parent in cases

which have annual 
collections that equal or
exceed $2,000.

The $25 fee is collected once
each Federal Fiscal Year, FFY.
The FFY is the period between
October 1 and September 30
of the following year. The $25
fee will be collected between
October 1 to November 30
and March 1 to September
30. The fee will not be 
collected in the months of
December, January and
February.
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Pennsylvania Child 
Support Enforcement Program

Parent Locator Service

If you do not know where your child’s noncustodial
parent lives, the DRS can refer your case to the
Parent Locator System. This service uses federal,
state and local resources to search for noncustodial
parents. You must give the DRS the noncustodial
parent’s name; date of birth; Social Security 
number, if you know it; and as much other 
information as possible for the search.

If you go to the Pennsylvania Child Support 
website at www.childsupport.state.pa.us and click
on the link for “Frequently Asked Questions,” you
will find more information about what a DRS does
to locate noncustodial parents.

The Support Conference

You will receive notice advising you when the 
support conference is scheduled and what 
information to bring. You should be prepared to
talk about and provide proof of any special needs
the child has, such as any medical conditions.

You must attend the support conference.
Depending on the county, if you believe you 
cannot attend, you may ask the DRS if you may
attend by telephone. You will need to explain why
you believe you cannot attend, and you may be
required to provide other information. This request
must be made as soon as possible. County DRS
staff can help with questions and explain the
process for obtaining child support. 

Pennsylvania Support Guidelines

The guidelines were developed with the principle
that the child(ren) of separated, divorced or single
parents should receive the same amount of
parental support as if the parents were together.
The State Supreme Court issues these guidelines
for the DRSs to use in calculating how much child
support a parent should pay.

The guidelines are based on the needs of the child
and the ability of the parents to provide child 

support until the child turns 18 or graduates from
high school, whichever occurs later, unless otherwise
ordered by the court. Either parent may be ordered
to provide medical support if it is available at no
cost or at a reasonable cost. “Reasonable cost” is
defined as an amount not to exceed five percent of
the net monthly income. The incomes and assets of
both parents are considered when the court 
establishes a support order. For detailed information
about the support guidelines, check under
“Frequently Asked Questions” on the Pennsylvania
Child Support website at www.childsupport.state.pa.us.
The website also includes the Pennsylvania Support
Estimator, which you can use to estimate the
amount of your monthly child support obligation.
However, the court will establish the amount of
monthly support, and it may be different than the
amount on the Support Estimator.

The Support Order

The support order is a court order that lists the
details about child support payments. The support
order tells how much and how often support 
payments must be made and other expenses the
noncustodial parent must pay, such as medical 
support. When the noncustodial parent has more
than one child support order, the support paid is
divided between each support case. 

A support officer will establish the support order
based on the income and expense information 
provided by the parents and in accordance with the
Pennsylvania Support Guidelines. The support officer
will also consider the time each parent is responsible
for the child.  

The support order can be appealed. In some 
counties that appeal is heard by an attorney hired
by the DRS; the individual may appeal the 
attorney’s decision to a judge. In other counties, the
appeal of the support order goes directly to the
judge for decision.

3



Pennsylvania Child 
Support Enforcement Program
Modifying the Child Support Order

Parents can petition the court for a review and
modification of their child support order at any
time if they feel there is a change in circumstance
that may affect the amount of the child support
order. Additionally, every three years the DRS will
send each parent a notice asking if they want their
support case reviewed. The DRS must review
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, TANF,
support cases every three years. The review is to
make any appropriate increase, decrease, 
modification, or termination of the order taking
into account the best interest of the child. The 
following factors related to the child support order
are considered: 

• The income of either parent significantly
increases or decreases.

• The child now has significant or continuing
medical expenses.

• Child care and/or medical insurance changes.

• The parents are now living together.

• The child receiving support is 18 years of age
and graduated from high school.

• The child starts living with the noncustodial
parent or someone other than the custodial
parent/plaintiff.

• The noncustodial parent is incarcerated.

• Other substantial changes in circumstance
occur.

Many counties charge a fee to accept a request for
a modification. You may ask to be excused from
paying the fee by filing a petition to proceed In
Forma Pauperis. It is then up to the DRS worker to
accept or decline the request.

For Your Information

The information contained here is not intended to
give solutions for all situations. Each child support
case has individual differences that may require
special attention by a qualified professional at the
DRS.

If you have any questions about your case or the
amount of your child support order, contact the
county DRS handling your case. See page 19 titled
“Child Support Resources and Telephone Numbers”
for the telephone number of the county DRS.

The county DRS also handles spousal support 
matters. Ask the DRS if you have questions about
applying for spousal support.

Pennsylvania Child Support 
Enforcement System, PACSES

PACSES is the statewide computer system that is
used by the county domestic relations sections.
Case, personal and payment information are 
maintained in PACSES. DRS staff use PACSES to
monitor support payments and enforce support
orders.  

Contact the county DRS that handles your case 
if you have any questions about the Pennsylvania
Child Support Enforcement Program.  

You can learn more about the Pennsylvania 
Child Support Enforcement Program and check
information about your child support case at 
www.childsupport.state.pa.us. You will need to
establish a password to view the details of your
case on this website. You can also call the 
Child Support Helpline at 1-800-932-0211 or 
the local DRS for more information.  
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Domestic Violence: Addressing Safety
Risks in the Support Process

Everyone involved in a support action needs to
understand how the process works. This helps
you make informed decisions about whether
and/or how to pursue support.  

The Support Process

• The parent or individual with custody of the
child, who is called the custodial parent or
the caretaker, will be asked to provide 
information about the parent(s) not living
with the child, who is/are called the 
noncustodial parent(s). 

• An individual will be asked to provide 
information to locate the noncustodial 
parent or spouse.

• It is necessary to go to the Domestic
Relations Section, DRS, or court to 
determine if the noncustodial parent or
spouse will be ordered to pay support and,
if so, how much.

• If the mother is not married when the child
is born, paternity must first be established.

• Both adults in the support action will receive
court papers that contain the addresses of
each party.

• Both adults involved in the support action
will be required to attend conferences and
hearings.

These requirements may present safety
risks if you are concerned about family or
domestic violence.

Addressing Safety Risks 

Pursuing support may present safety risks for
some individuals or families. The support process
provides the following safeguards:

• If domestic violence is reported, the DRS or
court can place a Family Violence Indicator on
PACSES for the custodial parent and/or non-
custodial parent as appropriate so that

addresses and other confidential information
will not be given out or printed on any papers
that are sent to others. The following factors
reported by an individual or reliable source(s)
are used to decide whether to mark the case
with a Family Violence Indicator:

•• There is an active Protection From
Abuse, PFA, order, either temporary or
permanent, against the person from
whom support would be sought.

•• There is reason to believe that the
release of information on the 
whereabouts of the individual or child
may result in physical or emotional
harm or the individual’s or family’s 
safety would be endangered by this 
disclosure.

• The DRS or court may provide safeguards if
domestic violence is reported. Each county
has different safety options and procedures
available.  

• Individuals applying for or receiving cash
assistance may be excused from the require-
ment to pursue support based on domestic
violence or other good cause. See page 7
titled “Child Support and Cash Assistance.”

Note: Many government agencies and groups
that work in the prevention of domestic violence
use the phrases “domestic violence,” “domestic
abuse” and “family violence” to mean the same
thing.  

Victims or potential victims of domestic 
violence may include: children, custodial 
parents, noncustodial parents, caretakers and
spouses. Any individual with safety concerns
should talk to the DRS or court staff at least one
week before a scheduled conference or hearing
to review safety options.
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Domestic Violence: Addressing Safety
Risks in the Support Process
Domestic violence occurs within a family or 
intimate relationship as a way to control another
person. Victims suffer physical injury, live in fear 
in their homes and lose power over their lives.
Domestic violence includes:

Physical Abuse: Hitting, slapping, shoving, 
kicking, punching, burning, choking, not allowing
you to leave home or using objects to cause injury
(guns, knives, baseball bats, etc.).

Mental Abuse: Threats, telling you what you can
or cannot do, name calling, or put-downs.

Sexual Abuse: Rape, unwanted touching, forced
sexual acts, refusal to practice safe sex, or sexual
activity involving a dependent child;

• being forced as the caretaker/relative of a
dependent child to engage in nonconsensual
sexual acts or activities;

• threats of, or attempts at, physical or sexual
abuse; or

• neglect or deprivation of medical care.

Property or Economic Abuse: Stealing or
destroying personal belongings, hurting pets, 
taking money, withholding basic needs such as
food and clothing, or not allowing you to work.

If you need help about domestic violence prob-
lems, call the national helpline at 1-800-799-SAFE
(7233) or a local agency. Local agency information
for the Pennsylvania Coalition Against Domestic
Violence is available at www.pcadv.org.
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Child Support and 
Cash Assistance

If a parent or spouse applies for or receives
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, or TANF,
also called cash assistance, the law requires 
cooperation in establishing paternity and pursuing a
support order. If domestic or family violence or
other circumstances make complying with these
support requirements dangerous or inappropriate,
the county assistance office, CAO, may excuse an
applicant or recipient from cooperating based on
Good Cause.

What is considered Good 
Cause for not filing for support?

Domestic Violence - Good Cause is granted when
pursuing support would: 

• Make it more difficult for an individual or 
family member to escape domestic violence;

• Place an individual or family member at risk of
further domestic violence; or 

• Unfairly penalize an individual who has been
victimized or who is at risk of further violence.

See page 5 titled “Domestic Violence: Addressing
Safety Risks in the Support Process” for more
information.

Rape, Incest or Adoption – Good Cause is 
granted when: 

• The child was conceived as a result of rape 
or incest.

• Court proceedings for adoption of the child are
pending or the applicant or recipient is working
with an agency that is helping to decide
whether or not the child should be placed for
adoption and these discussions have not 
progressed for more than three months.

How and when can someone request 
Good Cause?

Good Cause can be claimed at any time. When
the Domestic Relations Section, DRS, is told that

someone wants to claim Good Cause, the DRS will
not take any action on establishing paternity or
support. Applicants for or recipients of cash 
assistance will be referred to the CAO for help in
filling out the Domestic Violence Verification Form
(PA 1747) or providing verification in cases of rape,
incest or adoption. Ask the CAO staff for help!
The CAO will decide whether or not to grant Good
Cause and will give written notice of this decision
to the individual who claimed Good Cause. If the
Good Cause claim is denied, the individual claiming
Good Cause has the right to appeal and request a
fair hearing.  

What does “assignment of support rights”
mean? 

If you receive cash assistance, current support owed
during the time you receive cash assistance will be
paid to the state. This is called “assignment of 
support rights” and is required by law. The amount
of your support that may be collected by the state is
limited to the amount of cash assistance you receive.

Support paid to the state will be limited to the
amount of current support owed during the time
you receive cash assistance capped by the amount
of cash assistance you received.

What happens to the “assignment of support
rights” when cash assistance ends?

When cash benefits stop, support collections will be
paid in the following order: 

1. The full amount of current monthly support
owed to the family.

2. The full amount of arrears owed to the family.

3. The amount of arrears assigned to the State.

The family will receive all support collections first
before the state collects any support that is owed.
This includes support collected through the Federal
Tax Refund Offset Program.
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Child Support and 
Cash Assistance
What is a support pass-through?

Every month that the amount of current child 
support owed is paid on time for a family 
receiving cash assistance, DPW pays a portion 
of the child support to the custodial parent or 
caretaker. This is called the child support 
pass-through.

• If you have one child, you will receive the
first $100 of the current child support paid in
each month;

• If you have two or more children, you will
receive the first $200 of the current child 
support paid in each month; or

• If you have an order for spousal support for a
child, you will receive the first $50 of the 
current support paid in each month.

You will receive only one support pass through
payment a month. 
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Establishing Paternity for your 
Child is in your Hands

I m p o r t a n t  I n f o r m a t i o n  f o r  U n m a r r i e d  P a r e n t s

What is paternity?  

In Pennsylvania, when a child is born to a woman
who is unmarried, there is no legal relationship
between the father and the child. The father of a
child born to an unmarried woman is not the father
for legal purposes unless:

• A valid Acknowledgment of Paternity form (PA/CS
611) signed by both parents is on record, or

• A court has entered an order that establishes the
legal father of the child.

Note: Under current Pennsylvania law, when a child 
is born to a married woman, the husband is the 
presumed legal father of the child.

What is an Acknowledgment of Paternity form
and when can it be signed?

If the mother is unmarried, she and the father 
may sign an Acknowledgment of Paternity form. 
At the time of birth, the hospital staff will give the
unmarried mother and birth father an
Acknowledgment of Paternity form to complete. The
hospital staff can submit the completed form.  

After leaving the hospital, if both parties wish to file
an Acknowledgment of Paternity, the form can be
obtained at county assistance offices, DRSs 
or by contacting the Department of Public Welfare
Bureau of Child Support Enforcement Paternity
Coordinator at 1-800-932-0211, option number two.
Someone at all of these places can help you com-
plete the form. 

An Acknowledgment of Paternity form must include
the signed consent of the birth mother and signature
of the birth father. The signatures must be witnessed
by someone other than the birth mother or birth
father. Once BCSE determines the form is valid, it is
recorded as an acknowledgement of paternity. 

A voluntary Acknowledgment of Paternity may be 
cancelled by either party within 60 days after the
form is signed or before the date of a court proceed-
ing related to the child, whichever is sooner. After
the 60 days, the acknowledgment of paternity may

be challenged in court only on the basis of fraud,
duress or material mistake of fact, which must be
established by clear and convincing evidence. 

Do not sign the Acknowledgment of Paternity
form if either party is unsure of who is the
father. Instead, contact or go to your county DRS to
have paternity established through the court.  The
court may order genetic testing. See page 20 titled
“Child Support Resources and Telephone Numbers”
to find the telephone number of your county DRS.

What if the birth mother will not sign the
Acknowledgement of Paternity form?

A man claiming to be the father of a child may make
a claim of paternity. The man needs to complete the
child’s information section, the child’s birthplace 
information section, the mother’s name, and the
father’s information section on the Acknowledgment
of Paternity form. This allows the man to be notified
of certain legal proceedings about the child, but does
not give him any parental rights. If the man wants
parental rights, he may go to the DRS and request
genetic testing.

What will establishing paternity do for my
child?

When you establish paternity, your child may be 
eligible for the following:

Birth Certificate
Your child’s birth certificate will show the name of
the father. 

Health Care Benefits (Medical Support)
If the father’s employer provides health care 
benefits, the father may be able to include the
child under his health care plan.

Social Security
The child may be eligible to receive Social
Security benefits if the father becomes disabled
or dies.
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Establishing Paternity for your 
Child is in your Hands
I m p o r t a n t  I n f o r m a t i o n  f o r  U n m a r r i e d  P a r e n t s

Inheritance
Upon the death of the father, a child may have
the right to inherit from his estate.

U.S. Military Benefits
The child may be entitled to benefits as a result
of the father’s service in the military.

Child Support
The court will order the father to pay child 
support until the child turns 18 or graduates
from high school, whichever occurs later, unless
otherwise ordered by the court. Fathers who
pay child support tend to be more involved in
their children’s lives and children who receive
child support appear to perform better in school
and are less likely to become teen parents.

I don’t know who the father is, what can I
do?

Contact the DRS for help. See page 19 titled “Child
Support Resources and Telephone Numbers.”

I do not know where my child’s father is, 
what can I do?

The DRS can help you locate the father if you want
to establish paternity.

What must I do if I am receiving cash 
assistance for my child?

If you receive cash assistance, the law states that
you must cooperate in establishing paternity and
obtaining a child support order unless there is
Good Cause to excuse you from doing so. Tell the
CAO if you have domestic violence or Good Cause
concerns. For information about domestic violence
and Good Cause, see pages 5 and 6 titled
“Domestic Violence: Addressing Safety Risks in the
Support Process” and pages 7 and 8 titled “Child
Support and Cash Assistance.”

Who do I call if I have questions?

If you have more questions, contact the
Department of Public Welfare Bureau of Child
Support Enforcement Paternity Coordinator at:

1-800-932-0211, option number two 
Monday through Friday 
8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Or go to www.childsupport.state.pa.us for more
information about establishing paternity.
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Receiving 
Child Support

There are two ways to receive child support 
payments, the EPPICard™ Debit MasterCard® Card
or direct deposit into a personal bank account. You
must contact the PA State Collection and
Disbursement Unit, PA SCDU, at 1-877-727-7238 to
set up direct deposit into your checking or savings
account. If you do not choose direct deposit, an
EPPICard™ will be issued to you.

PA SCDU receives and sends out child support 
payments. Pennsylvania’s Department of Public
Welfare operates PA SCDU.

What is an EPPICard™ Debit MasterCard® Card?

The EPPICard™ is a fast, convenient way to receive
your child support payments. The EPPICard™ is safer
than using cash or checks. The EPPICard™ is a type
of debit card.  

How does the EPPICard™ work? 

Your support payments are sent electronically to an
account that has been set up only for your child 
support payments. When payments are sent 
electronically you get them more quickly and safely.
You cannot make your own deposits into your
EPPICard™ account. You will need to select a Personal
Identification Number, also known as a PIN, to 
activate your EPPICard™. 

Where can I use the EPPICard™?

The EPPICard™ can be used at any location that
accepts Mastercard® or displays its logo such as
banks, retail stores, and automatic teller machines,
ATMs. You can get cash back with purchases at many
businesses that accept Maestro®, like grocery stores.
You can use your EPPICard™ for all of your purchases
as long as you have money in your account.
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Receiving 
Child Support
How do I use the EPPICard™?

1. To Make Purchases: Present your card when 
paying. The amount of your purchase is auto-
matically deducted from your account.  

2. To Get Cash:  

•From a Teller at a Bank. Give your card to a
teller in any bank displaying the MasterCard®

logo, and ask for the amount of cash you want
that is available to you. There is no charge to
you to get cash from a bank teller where the
MasterCard® logo is displayed. When making
your cash withdrawal, do not ask the teller for
a cash advance.

•Cash Back With a Purchase. Many retail
stores that accept Maestro®, in addition to 
grocery stores, will give cash back with no fee
when you make a purchase.  

•At ATMs. You can use any ATM that has the
MasterCard® or Maestro® logo. Some ATMs
charge a fee for cash withdrawls.   

If you are an EPPICardTM cardholder and you
have a question about your support payment,
call EPPICard Customer Service at 1-800-304-
1669. For information about your direct deposit
support payments, contact PA SCDU Customer
Service at 1-877-727-7238. Individuals with
hearing impairment should use 1-877-676-
9582.

These numbers are toll-free nationwide. You can
review your payment information 24 hours a day, 
7 days a week. To speak with customer service, 
call between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through
Friday.

Must I do anything else?

The law requires each parent to tell the
Domestic Relations Section, DRS, within seven
days of a change happening, such as moving,
changing employment or getting married. 

Please be sure the DRS has your current address.
The DRS lists your address in the Pennsylvania Child
Support Enforcement System, the state’s child 
support computer. You can update this information
online at www.childsupport.state.pa.us.

If you have questions about your case that are not
related to your support payment, you must contact
the DRS that handles your case. See page 20 titled
“Child Support Resources and Telephone Numbers”
for the telephone number of the county DRS that
handles your case.
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Paying 
Child Support

Most child support is paid by income withholding 
as ordered by the court and maintained in the
Pennsylvania Child Support Enforcement System,
which is the state’s child support computer.
Pennsylvania maintains monthly support orders
which charge the first of each month. If your
employer gets a court order, the employer will take
child support out of your pay and send it to PA
SCDU. Support can also be taken from your 
unemployment compensation, workers’ compensa-
tion, Social Security, and retirement and pension
benefits.  

How can I pay child support if I don’t 
have income withholding?

PA SCDU sends payment coupons to parents ordered
to pay support who do not have income withholding.
You must write on the coupon the amount of money
you are paying. Make your personal check,
cashier’s check or money order payable to PA
SCDU. A coupon should be sent with every payment
to PA SCDU. However, if you do not have a payment
coupon, write your PACSES member number, which
is found on your court order, or Social Security 
number, SSN, on your check or money order and
send payments to:

PA SCDU
P.O. Box 69110
Harrisburg, PA 17106-9110

PA SCDU cannot accept checks that are considered
non-negotiable by banking standards. Some 
examples of non-negotiable items are: checks that
are stale dated, post dated or not signed; checks
that are not payable to PA SCDU; or the amount in 
numbers does not match the amount “written out”.
PA SCDU also does not accept temporary checks or
starter checks.

You can pay child support by:

• Personal Check, Cashier’s Check or Money
Order. Send your payment coupon with the
check or money order so your account is 

credited. Write your PACSES member number or
SSN on the check or money order and make it
payable to PA SCDU. 

• Telephone. You can make a payment over the
phone from your checking or savings account.
Contact the PA SCDU Customer Service Unit at
1-877-727-7238 for instructions.

• Recurring Automatic Withdrawals. You can
choose to have your support payments taken
electronically from your checking or savings
account. This is called recurring automatic 
withdrawal. Call PA SCDU at 1-877-727-7238 if
you would like to set up recurring automatic
withdrawal. You may also have a one-time 
payment or recurring payments withdrawn from
your bank account at www.expertpay.com.

• Credit/Debit Card. PA SCDU accepts Visa®,
MasterCard®, or Discover®. You can pay by 
telephone with your credit/debit card by calling
PA SCDU toll free at 1-800-955-2305. Because
you will not be able to set up your account to
automatically charge your credit card, you must
call PA SCDU every time you wish to make a
credit/debit card payment. Credit card payments
may also be made online at 
www.e-childspay.com.

For information about your support payment, contact
the PA SCDU at 1-877-727-7238. Individuals with
hearing impairment should use 1-877-676-9582.

Both numbers are toll-free nationwide. You can access
your payment information 24 hours a day, 7 days a
week. To speak with customer service staff, call
between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. 
If you have questions about your case that are not
related to your support payment, contact the Domestic
Relations Section that handles your case.
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Paying 
Child Support
What must I do if I move or change my job?

The law says that parents have 7 days to report
to the DRS in writing or in person if they move or
change jobs. 

What happens if I don’t pay?

If you do not pay your child support, the DRS may
order an automatic wage withholding or use one or
more of the following enforcement measures:

• National and State New Hire Reporting: Your
employer must report information on new 
employees. This information is matched against
child support records. The records are used to
locate parents, establish child support orders and
enforce existing orders.

• Federal and State Tax Refund Offset Program:
Your federal and state income tax refunds can be
taken if you owe overdue child support.

• Financial Institution Data Match: The court can
order financial institutions, such as banks and 
credit unions, to turn over your financial assets to
pay your overdue support.

• Work Requirements: You can be ordered by the
court to work or join an employment program.

• Credit Bureau Reporting: If you are late in 
paying support, your name and the amount of back
support you owe will be reported to the major
credit bureaus.

• License Suspension: If you owe at least 3
months of support and a court has not ordered
income withholding, you may have the following
licenses suspended, denied or not renewed: 

- Driver’s license 

- Commercial driver’s license

- Professional or occupational license

- Fishing and/or hunting license

• Passport Denial: The United States Department
of State can deny the issuance or renewal of a

passport if you have child support arrears over
$2,500.

• Lottery Intercept: Your lottery winnings of
$2,500 or more can be taken if you owe 
overdue child support.

• Intercept of Workers Compensation and Lump
Sum Personal Injury Payment: The amount of
overdue child support you owe may be taken from
your settlement or benefits.

• Fine or Prison: The federal government funds
Project Save Our Children Task Force, a federal
multi-agency law enforcement initiative which
investigates and prosecutes the most flagrant child
support cases. Federal law makes it a crime if you
owe more than $5,000 of child support for longer
than a year and you do not pay the child support
for a child who lives in another state. If you are
convicted, the court will order a repayment of the
unpaid support. In addition, you can be fined
and/or put in prison for up to two years.

• Publication of Name: Your name may be 
published in the newspaper if you are at least 30
days late in paying child support.

• Liens on Real Estate: Your overdue support 
automatically becomes a lien against all real estate
that you own in Pennsylvania.

For Your Information

The above information describes actions a DRS may
take to enforce a child support order. Each child 
support case has individual differences that may
require special attention by a qualified professional at
the DRS. If you have questions about your case or
want more information about any of the enforcement
measures described above, contact the DRS that 
handles your case. See page 20 titled “Child Support
Resources and Telephone Numbers” or the telephone
number of the county DRS that handles your case.

14



Medical 
Support

Can I get medical support for my child?

Pennsylvania law gives the courts the authority
to order parents to provide medical support for
their children if it is available at no cost or at a
reasonable cost.

Medical support includes health coverage 
provided for a child or children in a child 
support case in which there is a medical 
support order. This includes private health
insurance; publicly-funded health coverage such
as Children’s Health Insurance Program, CHIP;
cash medical support including payment of
health insurance premiums; and payment of
medical bills (including dental and eye care).
Medical support may be provided by either the
custodial parent, noncustodial parent or any
3rd person associated with either parent such
as a step-parent or grandparent.

How do I get medical support for a child?

Anyone who has custody of a child can apply
for child support services at the county
Domestic Relations Section of the Court of
Common Pleas. The DRS will help people seek-
ing child support to set up a new support order
or change an existing order to include medical
support.  

The court: 

• Will determine each parent’s responsibility
for the health care coverage for the child.  

• Will decide which parent has primary
responsibility for medical support; usually, it
is the parent who has access to health care
coverage at work at a “Reasonable Cost,”
which is:

•• Not more than five percent of the
party’s net monthly income; and

•• If the noncustodial parent is to 
provide the coverage, the total cost of
the premium, the cash and other child

support-related obligations are not 
more than the threshold set forth in
the Federal Consumer Credit
Protection Act.  

• May require one or both parents to pay part
of the expenses not covered by the health
care coverage, including birth-related
expenses that occurred prior to the 
application for support.

• Will enforce a court order if a parent who is
ordered to provide medical support fails to
do so.
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Medical 
Support
What must the employer and the health 
care coverage plan administrator do?

When an employed parent is ordered to 
provide medical support, the employer and the
plan administrator must comply with federal and
state laws.  A plan administrator who manages the
health care coverage for an employer must:

• Make the health care coverage available 
to the child without regard to custody 
arrangements, seasonal or other 
enrollment restrictions, or the child’s 
residence.

• Enroll a child born out of wedlock or a child
who is not claimed as a dependent on the 
federal income tax return of the parent without
custody.

• Enroll each child named in the support order
into the employer–sponsored medical support if
it is available at no cost or at a reasonable
cost.  

• Process and pay claims to the individual with
custody of the child. 

• Tell the individual with custody of the child
about changes in the medical 
support.

• Provide health care benefit 
booklets to the individual with 
custody of the child.

• Allow the individual with 
custody of the child to enroll 
the child.

• Disenroll or eliminate coverage 
for a child only when: 

•• notified in writing that the 
court order is no longer in 
effect; 

•• the child is enrolled or will be 
enrolled in comparable medical 
support beginning on the date of 
disenrollment; 

•• the employer has eliminated
family medical support for all employees; 

•• any available continuation coverage is not
elected; or 

•• the employee is no longer eligible for 
family medical support due to a change in
employment status.

Getting The Facts About A 
Child’s Health Care Coverage

By law, the person with custody of the child must
receive the following information:

• The name of the administrator of the medical
support; 

• Health care cards and identification numbers; 

• Instructions on how and where to file a claim; 

• Claim forms; and

• Basic benefit facts, including deductibles, 
co-payments and any restrictions on coverage.

The National Medical Support Notice

The National Medical Support Notice is a 
medical child support order that state child support
enforcement agencies must use to enforce medical 

child support. The National Medical 
Support Notice is used when a parent 
is ordered to provide medical 
support for his/her child and is 
employed or in active military   

or reserve military duty. The county 
DRS sends the National Medical 
Support Notice to the employer. The 

employer and the medical support  
plan administrator must complete the 
National Medical Support Notice. The 
medical support information is then     

reported to the county DRS.  
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Medical 
Support

Confidentiality

The county DRS is responsible for maintaining the
confidentiality and security of protected health
information in accordance with the Health
Insurance Portability and Accountability Act, HIPAA.
This includes information in health records 
including, but not limited to: names, addresses,
telephone numbers, email addresses,
medical/health plan numbers, Social Security 
numbers, and birth dates.

For Your Information

The information contained in this handbook is not
intended to give solutions for all situations. Each
child support case has individual differences that
may require special attention by a qualified 
professional at the DRS.  

For more information, contact the DRS that 
handles your case. See page 20 titled “Child
Support Resources and Telephone Numbers.”
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If you feel that your rights to medical support are not 
being met or that you need special help, contact:

Child Support Helpline
1-800-932-0211

www.childsupport.state.pa.us

To learn about the health care coverage programs available 
in Pennsylvania, which include Medical Assistance and CHIP,

visit the website www.pa.gov or contact:

Medical Assistance
Information Helpline

1-800-842-2020

Children’s Health 
Insurance Program (CHIP)

1-800-986-KIDS (5437)
See next page for general information about the CHIP program.

You can apply online for any 
of the commonwealth’s health care 

coverage programs, 
including Medical Assistance and CHIP, 

at www.compass.state.pa.us.



Pennsylvania’s Children’s Health
Insurance Program (CHIP)
Free or Low-cost Health Insurance

CHIP covers all uninsured children and teens who
aren’t eligible for or enrolled in Medical assistance.
No one makes too much money. It’s easy to sign
up and even easier to qualify. Regardless of why
your kids don’t have insurance right now – maybe
you lost your job, or health care has gotten too
expensive – CHIP may be able to help.  

To qualify, first you need an uninsured kid!

Based on your family’s size and income, your child
or teen may be eligible if he or she is

• Under 19 years of age;

• A U.S. Citizen, U.S. National or Qualified Alien;

• A resident of Pennsylvania;

• Uninsured and not eligible for or enrolled in
Medical Assistance.

Coverage that can keep up with kids.

CHIP is there for your kids with quality, 
comprehensive health insurance coverage for 
routine doctor visits, prescriptions, dental, eye care
and much more! You’ll have your choice of leading
insurance companies you know and trust. In fact,
your kids may even be able to keep visiting the
same doctors that they see now.

Is CHIP free for your family?

No family makes too much money for CHIP. Most
kids receive CHIP for free. Others can get the
same benefits at a low cost. If you make too little
for CHIP, your child or teen may be enrolled in
Medical Assistance. 

Applying is so easy, a kid could do it.

You can apply online (www.ChipCoversPAkids.com),
over the phone (800-986-KIDS) or by mail. It’s easy
and we’re happy to help you through the process –
just call us at 800-986-KIDS. To apply, you will need
to gather the following information:

• your total household income before taxes

• child care and work transportation expenses

Learn more and 
APPLY TODAY  by visiting

www.ChipCoversPAkids.com 
or calling 800-986-KIDS.
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Child Support Resources 
and Telephone Numbers
Pennsylvania Child 
Support website

If you have access to the Internet,
you can view the Pennsylvania Child
Support website at 
www.childsupport.state.pa.us. 

The Child Support website is an
interactive online guide to child
support information in
Pennsylvania. The site is useful to
persons who receive or pay child
support, as well as employers,
financial institutions, attorneys and
the public.

You can: 

• View your payment 
information online;

• Provide and update 
information such as a new
address or employment 
information;

• Locate a Domestic Relations
Section in your area;

• View scheduled events;

• Obtain forms; and

• View docket or lien 
information.

The following additional 
information concerning child 
support can also be found on 
the website: 

• Laws and Legislation

• Frequently Asked Questions

• Child Support Terms

• Useful Links 

Adams . . . . . . Gettysburg . . . 888-707-3300

Allegheny . . . . Pittsburgh . . . . 412-350-5600

Armstrong. . . . Kittanning. . . . 800-235-3002

Beaver . . . . . . Beaver . . . . . . 724-773-8500

Bedford. . . . . . Bedford. . . . . . 814-623-4813

Berks . . . . . . . Reading . . . . . 610-478-2900

Blair . . . . . . . . Hollidaysburg . 814-693-3220

Bradford . . . . . Towanda. . . . . 570-265-1718

Bucks . . . . . . . Doylestown. . . 888-848-6538

Butler . . . . . . . Butler . . . . . . . 724-284-5181

Cambria . . . . . Ebensburg . . . 800-638-4409

Cameron. . . . . Emporium. . . . 814-486-5875

Carbon . . . . . . Jim Thorpe . . . 570-325-2179

Centre . . . . . . Bellefonte . . . . 814-355-6741

Chester. . . . . . West Chester . 800-221-4636

Clarion . . . . . . Clarion . . . . . . 814-226-1030

Clearfield. . . . . Clearfield . . . . 814-765-5339

Clinton . . . . . . Lock Haven. . . 570-893-4055

Columbia . . . . Bloomsburg . . 570-387-8870

Crawford. . . . . Meadville . . . . 800-982-9019

Cumberland . . Carlisle . . . . . . 888-697-0371

Dauphin . . . . . Harrisburg. . . . 800-328-0058

Delaware. . . . . Media . . . . . . . 610-891-4314

Elk . . . . . . . . . Ridgway . . . . . 814-772-5155

Erie. . . . . . . . . Erie . . . . . . . . 814-451-6151

Fayette . . . . . . Uniontown . . . 724-430-1260

Forest . . . . . . . Tionesta . . . . . 814-755-3840

Franklin. . . . . . Chambersburg 717-264-6144

Fulton . . . . . . . McConnellsburg717-485-3192

Greene . . . . . . Waynesburg . . 724-852-5214

Huntingdon . . . Huntingdon. . . 814-643-1403

Indiana . . . . . . Indiana. . . . . . 724-465-3940

Jefferson. . . . . Brookville . . . . 814-849-1632

Juniata . . . . . . Mifflintown . . . 717-436-7749

Lackawanna . . Mayfield . . . . . 570-963-6721

Lancaster . . . . Lancaster . . . . 717-299-8141

Lawrence . . . . New Castle . . . 724-658-5651

Lebanon . . . . . Lebanon . . . . . 717-228-4480

Lehigh. . . . . . . Allentown . . . . 610-782-3185

Luzerne. . . . . . Wilkes-Barre . . 570-822-0600

Lycoming . . . . Williamsport . . 570-327-2395

McKean. . . . . . Smethport . . . 814-887-3377 

Mercer . . . . . . Mercer . . . . . . 724-662-3800

Mifflin . . . . . . . Lewistown. . . . 717-248-3955

Monroe . . . . . . Stroudsburg . . 570-517-3845

Montgomery . . Norristown . . . 610-278-3646

Montour . . . . . Danville . . . . . 570-271-3031

Northampton. . Easton . . . . . . 610-253-3566

Northumberland Sunbury . . . . . . 570-988-4227

Perry. . . . . . . . New Bloomfield 717-582-5178

Philadelphia. . . Philadelphia. . . 215-686-7466

Pike . . . . . . . . Milford . . . . . . 570-296-6511

Potter . . . . . . . Coudersport . . 814-274-7020

Schuylkill. . . . . Pottsville . . . . . 570-628-1588

Snyder . . . . . . Middleburg . . . 570-837-4229

Somerset . . . . Somerset . . . . 814-445-1440

Sullivan. . . . . . Laporte. . . . . . 570-946-5481

Susquehanna . Montrose . . . . 570-278-4600

Tioga . . . . . . . Wellsboro . . . . 570-724-9330

Union . . . . . . . Lewisburg . . . . 570-524-8661

Venango . . . . . Franklin . . . . . 814-432-9590

Warren . . . . . . Warren . . . . . . 814-728-3540

Washington. . . Washington. . . 800-561-5022

Wayne . . . . . . Honesdale. . . . 570-251-9827

Westmoreland. Greensburg. . . 800-561-5022

Wyoming . . . . Tunkhannock. . 570-836-8645

York . . . . . . . . York . . . . . . . . 717-771-9605

County City Phone

DOMESTIC RELATIONS SECTIONS TELEPHONE NUMBERS

County City Phone



Child Support Resources 
and Telephone Numbers

Paternity

For additional information, contact the Department
of Public Welfare, Bureau of Child Support
Enforcement’s Paternity Coordinator at:

1-800-932-0211 - option number two 
Monday through Friday 
8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Medical Support

If you feel that your rights to medical support 
are not being met or that you need special help,
contact the:  

Child Support Helpline
1-800-932-0211

www.childsupport.state.pa.us

To learn about the health care coverage 
programs available in Pennsylvania, which 
include Medical Assistance or CHIP, visit the 
website www.pa.gov. You can apply online for 
any of the commonwealth’s health care coverage
programs, including Medical Assistance and 
CHIP, at www.compass.state.pa.us.

Legal Assistance

If you have any questions about your rights, free
legal help is available. Local agency information is
listed at www.palegalservices.org.

Helpline Telephone Numbers

If you have questions about public assistance 
programs in Pennsylvania, including cash 
assistance; Medical Assistance; Medicare Part B
Buy-in; Food Stamps; Children’s Health Insurance
Program (CHIP); the Low-Income Home Energy
Assistance Program (LIHEAP); and State
Supplementary Payment (SSP), contact:

1-800-692-7462
Department of Public Welfare Helpline

1-800-842-2020
Medical Assistance Information Helpline

1-800-986-KIDS (5437)
CHIP Helpline

1-866-857-7095
LIHEAP Information 

1-866-502-9105
State Supplementary Payment Hotline 

1-800-451-5886
TDD service for individuals 
with hearing impairment

(Callers must have text telephone equipment)

The HELPLINE numbers are toll free nationwide.
They offer recorded information that is available 24
hours a day, 7 days a week. To speak with a 
customer service person, call between 8:30 a.m.
and 4:45 p.m. Monday through Friday. 

Domestic Violence

Domestic violence can affect your family 
physically, emotionally and financially. Domestic
violence services are available through the 
national helpline at 1-800-799-SAFE (7233) or
through a local agency. Local agency information
for the Pennsylvania Coalition Against Domestic
Violence is available at www.pcadv.org.
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Important information about Pennsylvania’s Child Support Program. 

If you need help reading this, please call 1-800-932-0211. 

Language assistance is provided free of charge.
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